Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas – A Guide for the Listener and the Performer - Yale Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas: A Guide for the Listener and the Performer

Boris Berman


This book draws on his intimate knowledge of Prokofiev's work to guide music lovers and pianists through the composer's nine piano sonatas. These cherished works, composed between 1910 and 1951, are today considered an indispensable part of the repertoire of every serious concert pianist. The book, written with a deep appreciation of Prokofiev's style and creativity, looks at the sonatas within the context of Prokofiev's complete oeuvre. For each sonata, the book provides general information about the work and a discussion of the composition's details and features, and in a section entitled “M ... More

Keywords: Prokofiev, composer, piano sonatas, repertoire, concert pianist, performing, misprints, published scores, musical terms, pianists

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2008 Print ISBN-13: 9780300114904
Published to Yale Scholarship Online: October 2013 DOI:10.12987/yale/9780300114904.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Boris Berman, author