Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Béla Bartók$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

David Cooper

Print publication date: 2015

Print ISBN-13: 9780300148770

Published to Yale Scholarship Online: January 2016

DOI: 10.12987/yale/9780300148770.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM YALE SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.yale.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Yale University Press, 2022. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in YSO for personal use.date: 25 June 2022

‘From here is seen the graveyard’s border’

‘From here is seen the graveyard’s border’


(p.309) Chapter Eleven ‘From here is seen the graveyard’s border’
Béla Bartók

David Cooper

Yale University Press

This chapter discusses Béla Bartók's concerts and other musical activities during the years 1939–1942. By the late 1930s, several of Bartók's more recent compositions had achieved considerable success; the Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta had received some fifty performances in the 1937–1938 season alone. By February 1939, Bartók's Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion had received six European performances. He also completed the Divertimento for string orchestra against the backdrop of preparations for World War II. This chapter considers Bartók's other compositions during the period, including the Sixth String Quartet, along with his poor health.

Keywords:   concerts, Béla Bartók, compositions, Divertimento, Sixth String Quartet, poor health

Yale Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.