Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Shostakovich's Preludes and Fugues - Yale Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Shostakovich's Preludes and Fugues

Mark Mazullo


This is a book-length study of Shostakovich's Twenty-Four Preludes and Fugues for piano, Opus 87. It explains the cultural context in which Shostakovich composed, relates the cycle to piano works (by Bach, Hindemith, and others), and offers individual commentaries on each of the Preludes and Fugues.

Keywords: Shostakovich, Twenty-Four Preludes, Fugues, piano, Opus 87, cultural context, piano works, Bach, Hindemith

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2010 Print ISBN-13: 9780300149432
Published to Yale Scholarship Online: October 2013 DOI:10.12987/yale/9780300149432.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Mark Mazullo, author

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.