Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Forbidden MusicThe Jewish Composers Banned by the Nazis$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Michael Haas

Print publication date: 2013

Print ISBN-13: 9780300154306

Published to Yale Scholarship Online: October 2013

DOI: 10.12987/yale/9780300154306.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM YALE SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.yale.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Yale University Press, 2021. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in YSO for personal use.date: 01 December 2021



(p.1) Introduction
Forbidden Music

Michael Haas

Yale University Press

This introductory chapter discusses the theme of this book, which is about Jewish composers who were banned by the Third Reich. The book examines the music written by the Jewish composers and the tragic postwar developments that kept them on the margins long after the fall of Adolf Hitler's Reich, covering the period from the Congress of Vienna in 1815 and ending with the new definitions of music and society in the 1960s.

Keywords:   Jewish composers, Third Reich, postwar developments, Adolf Hitler, Congress of Vienna

Yale Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.