Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Stalin's Music PrizeSoviet Culture and Politics$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Marina Frolova-Walker

Print publication date: 2016

Print ISBN-13: 9780300208849

Published to Yale Scholarship Online: September 2016

DOI: 10.12987/yale/9780300208849.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM YALE SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.yale.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Yale University Press, 2022. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in YSO for personal use.date: 06 July 2022



(p.279) Conclusion
Stalin's Music Prize

Marina Frolova-Walker

Yale University Press

This book concludes with a discussion of issues of listening in the Stalin Prize Committee (KSP) and how the Stalin Prize can illuminate the concept or practice of Socialist Realism in music. Instead of looking at the small-scale details of the KSP's decision-making process, it considers the published lists of prize-winning composers such as Dmitry Shostakovich, Sergei Prokofiev and Nikolai Myaskovsky. It argues that, as the case of visual arts implies, it is possible to viably speak of a Socialist Realist core of works that elicited the fullest consensus as canonical examples of Socialist Realism. It also cites the early 1950s as the period whereby both the Stalin Prize and the entire project of Socialist Realism lost their momentum.

Keywords:   composers, Stalin Prize Committee, Stalin Prize, Socialist Realism, music, Dmitry Shostakovich, Sergei Prokofiev, Nikolai Myaskovsky, visual arts

Yale Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs , and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.