Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Magnum Opus – The Cycle Plays of Eugene O'Neill - Yale Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Magnum Opus: The Cycle Plays of Eugene O'Neill

Zander Brietzke


Magnum Opus offers an original and provocative analysis of Eugene O'Neill's unfinished cycle play project. From 1935 to 1939, Eugene O'Neill worked on a series of plays that would trace the history of an American family through several generations. He completed just two of the proposed eleven plays—A Touch of the Poet and More Stately Mansions—before putting the project aside and taking up The Iceman Cometh and Long Day's Journey Into Night. Most critics have viewed the Cycle as an extended warmup exercise, but Zander Brietzke treats the Cycle on its own terms as separate from the final plays ... More

Keywords: Eugene O’Neill, Cycle, A Touch of the Poet, More Stately Mansions, American Dream, The Iceman Cometh, Long Day’s Journey Into Night, Epic, Historical drama

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2021 Print ISBN-13: 9780300248470
Published to Yale Scholarship Online: January 2022 DOI:10.12987/yale/9780300248470.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Zander Brietzke, author